Visual FX in Videogames

 

 

So as part of my training to become better I want to learn a little about VFX in videogames. This is also part of my effort to be experienced in every area of art at Riot Games to boost my shot at an internship. What I like about VFX from what I’ve seen is structured and logical everything is. The breakdown above of the “Sunfire Cape” is very simple and inspiring and by the end of the week I’m going to see if I can produce something similar. The guy that made the video, Jason Keyser, works as a VFX artist for League of Legends and has a few breakdown videos. In the comment section, someone had asked him what would be the best tool to use to get something close to League of Legends and he suggested Unreal Engine 4. Apparently it has a steeper learning curve than Unity, but I’m willing to tackle it for the challenge.

I’m going to be following this tutorial series to teach myself the basics of UE4’s Cascade for particle effects. In this post I’m going to summarise the videos/take notes on anything important I want to come back to.

Here is a document containing a summary of different FX types and particles.

First video is all about terminology for particle effects.

Particle – A point in space that may be assigned attributes/behaviour.

Sprite – 2D plane that will always face the camera.

Particle System – The assets that reside in your content browser.

Emitter Actor – The physical object in a scene that acts as a reference to a particle system.

Particle System Component – I think this is a blueprint…for an Emitter Actor…?

Cascade – The particle editing system inside UE4.

Emitter – A column in Cascade that holds all of the properties for an individual particle.

 

I saw a tutorial by Dean Ashford and decided to give it a go, here is my first result:

Very basic, but a good foundation to start tinkering with things.

 

Leave a Reply

